Correspondence Courses

RHS Level 3 Plant Growth Unit 3: The Management of Plant Health

Full CourseLocationPrice
RHS Level 3 Plant Growth Unit 3: The Management of Plant HealthHome£150.00

Enrol for this course

The Management of Plant Health is the third unit of the Level 3 Plant Growth Certificate.

The RHS have set a deadline of March 31 2023 for anyone wishing to embark on study for this Certificate, which is part of the suite of Level 3 qualifications which will be  replaced in September 2023 by a new RHS Level 3 Diploma.  There is no transition for individual units, so if you have already started the Plant Growth Certificate you have until the February 2025 exam round to complete it. This means you have only June 2023, Feb and June  2024 and Feb 2025 to take or retake exam units.

Units 2, 3 and 4 of the Level 3 Plant Growth Certificate will remain available to you to purchase if you have already begun your studies before the RHS deadline.

What will I study?

This third unit covers pest and disease lifecycles and plant disorders, control methodology and legislation.

It builds on the basics of RHS level 2 'Maintaining Plant Health'.

How is it delivered and assessed?

Correspondence course 

We will send you full-colour printed course materials, plus a revision workbook test paper,  for each unit. Your tutor can be contacted via email to support you in your studies, marking your revision workbook and mock examination papers to give you feedback and help you to prepare for examinations. You will also have access to the online classroom as a backup, to get reminders about examinations and to network with other students.


The theory Certificates are assessed by national exams set by the RHS each year in February and June. Each unit has its own  short written exam.

We do not enter you for the examinations, but we will make you aware through the online classroom of exam dates and deadlines and your tutor will give you guidance on whether you are ready to take the exams. 

What qualification will I get?

When you have passed exams in all the units, the Royal Horticultural Society will award a Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of Plant Growth, Health and Applied Propagation.

If you successfully complete the other theory Certificate, and the RHS Level 3 Practical Certificate in Horticulture as well, the RHS will award you a Level 3 Diploma in the Principles and Practices of Horticulture.

Your enrolment gives you online access and tutor support until the final examinations which the RHS hold for this form of the Certificate.

What is the cost and venue(s)?

Study at home, or whenever and wherever it suits you, with your full colour printed course books.

Individual units are  £150 each.

These course costs do not include RHS examination fees  (currently about 30 per unit, but prices increase each year in September so please consult the booking page for current fees). 

These fees are paid to the RHS by the Centre where you choose to take your exams, and while we offer our students the facility to take exams at our Ryton Centre, this may not be the most convenient location for you. You can arrange to take examinations at any Centre which offers your specific exam and which will accept an external candidate. The RHS website gives guidance on finding an exam centre. you can also choose to take your exams online using your own computer and remote invigilation - for this you need to contact the RHS direct on


What is the enrolment process?

You can enrol and buy your chosen units on the website using PayPal.

Your username and password for the online classroom should be emailed to you automatically; please check spam filters if you do not see an email within an hour, and contact us if nothing has arrived overnight; correspondence materials will be sent out within a week. 

What else do I need to know?

This is the third unit in the Level 3 Plant Growth Certificate which is offered only as a completion to anyone studying this qualification and buying units individually.

What can I do after completing this course?

Units 2 and 4 are also available individually to complete the Certificate.