Correspondence Courses

RHS Level 2 Garden Planning Unit 2: Choice Establishment and Maintenance of Garden Plants and Lawns

Full CourseLocationPrice
RHS Level 2 Garden Planning Unit 2: Choice Establishment and Maintenance of Garden Plants and LawnsHome£125.00

Enrol for this course

This is the second unit of the Level 2 Garden Planning Certificate.

The RHS have set a deadline of March 31 2023 for anyone wishing to embark on study for this current certificate. The  new Level 2 Principles of Horticulture replaces the Level 2 Diploma qualification from September 2022 but there is no transition for individual  units, so if you have already started the Garden Planning Certificate you have until the February 2024 exam round to complete it. This means you have  June 2023 and finally Feb 2024 to take or retake exam units.

Units 2, 3 and 4 of the Garden Planning Certificate will remain available to you to purchase if you have already begun your studies before the RHS deadline.

What will I study?

Choice, Establishment and Maintenance of Garden Plants and Lawns is the second unit of the Level 2 Garden Planning certificate; the content links closely with the first unit, on plant selection for design purposes, as the same core of plant knowledge is required for both.  This unit looks at how to establish and maintain specific plantings.

How is it delivered and assessed?

We will send you full-colour printed course materials, plus a revision workbook test paper,  for each unit. Your tutor can be contacted via email to support you in your studies, marking your revision workbook and mock examination papers to give you feedback and help you to prepare for examinations. You will also have access to the online classroom as a backup, to get reminders about examinations and to network with other students.

What qualification will I get?

When you have passed exams in all the units, the Royal Horticultural Society will award a Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Garden Planning, Establishment and Planting.

If you successfully complete the other theory Certificate, you will be awarded the RHS Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Horticulture; if you  complete the RHS Level 2 Practical Certificate in Horticulture  before July 2024, the RHS will award you a Level 2 Diploma in the Principles and Practices of Horticulture.


What is the cost and venue(s)?

Study at home, or whenever and wherever it suits you, with your full colour printed course books.

Individual units are  £125;This does not include the RHS examination fees (currently £20 per unit but the RHS change this annually so please consult the booking page).

These are paid to the RHS by the Centre where you choose to take your exams, and while we offer our students the facility to take exams at our Ryton centre, this may not be the most convenient location for you. You can arrange to take examinations at any Centre which offers your specific exam and which will accept an external candidate.  The RHS website gives guidance on finding an exam centre.  Alternatively the RHS now offer an online version of the same exam which you can sit at home  - it takes place with remote invigilation at the same time as the national exams.  Please contact the RHS direct about booking these exams.

What is the enrolment process?

You can enrol and buy your chosen unit on the website using PayPal.

Please enter your enrolment number to validate the purchase and ensure that the unit is added to your current enrolment so that you can continue to use your existing username and password in the online classroom. Confirmation should be emailed to you automatically; please check your spam filters if you do not see an email within an hour, and contact us if nothing has arrived overnight. 

Correspondence materials will be sent out within a week. 


What else do I need to know?

This is the second unit in the Level 2 Garden Planning Certificate which is offered only as a completion to anyone studying this qualification and buying units individually.

What can I do after completing this course?

Units 3 and 4 are also available individually to complete the Certificate.