RHS Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Garden Planning, Establishment and Maintenance

Full CourseLocationPrice
RHS Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Garden Planning, Establishment and MaintenanceHome£264.00
Course ModulesPrice
(DL) Level 2GP Individual unit 1: Garden features, plant selection and planning£72.00
(DL) Level 2GP Individual unit 2: Establishment and maintenance of plants and lawns£72.00
(DL) Level 2GP Individual unit 3: Production of outdoor vegetables and fruit£72.00
(DL) Level 2GP Individual unit 4: Protected environments and their use in plant cultivation£72.00

Enrol for this course or module

Updated information from the RHS  (September 2021)

The current suite of RHS qualifications will be replaced in centres in September 2022. The RHS have set a deadline for enrolment of March 31 2023 for anyone  wishing to embark on study for the Level 2 or Level 3 Garden Planning Certificates.

They have now clarified that 'enrolment' does not mean you need to be registered for an examination before that cut-off date.

Examinations for the current level 2 and 3 theory Certificates will continue through 2022 and 2023, with the absolute final exam round in February 2024.

This means that you can begin the Level 2 Garden Planning Certificate online and as correspondence up to the end of March 2023 if you wish  to complete your Level 2 Diploma, but anyone thinking of waiting until 2023 should be aware this will leave only two exam opportunities (June 2023 and February 2024) for completion. Incomplete Certificates cannot be transferred to the new qualification.

Completing both the current theory Certificates plus the new Practical Certificate will allow you to achieve an RHS Level 2 Diploma; the new qualification framework from 2022 will offer a combined Certificate at level 2, consisting of one theory and one Practical Certificate.

 There is no equivalent Level 2 qualification for the RHS Garden Planning Certificate in the new courses. This is why it will run for one additional year.

Note: This course may also be studied at our Ryton and Bampton centres or as a correspondence course.

What will I study?

Each RHS Certificate is made up of four individual units: you can work through them in turn, or you can just study single units that interest you.

Garden features, plant selection and planning
Choice, establishment and maintenance of garden plants and lawns
Production of outdoor vegetables and fruit
Protected environments and their use in plant cultivation

What is covered?

Click here for the RHS Level 2 Syllabus which provide you with a complete overview of the course.

How is it delivered and assessed?

Online learning gives you flexible study  - you can log in to your 'virtual classroom' for each unit: 

  • Download notes and presentations to read on or offline, or print them out if  you prefer
  • View interactive materials and 'self-test' quizzes online
  • Contact your course tutor using the internal messaging system
  • Upload practice exam papers and questions, and your revision workbook for feedback and support
  • Keep in touch with other students on your course through the online forum
  • Get updates and reminders about exam deadlines

Click here to enter the teaching website and see some examples of course materials in a sample online classroom ( you will be asked to log in as a guest).

What qualification will I get?

When you have passed exams in all the units, the Royal Horticultural Society will award a Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Garden Planning, Establishment and Maintenance.

If you successfully complete the other theory Certificate, you will be awarded the RHS Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Horticulture; and when you successfully complete the RHS Level 2 Practical Certificate in Horticulture as well, the RHS will award you a Level 2 Diploma in the Principles and Practices of Horticulture.

What is the cost and venue(s)?

Study at home, or whenever and wherever it suits you. You can download most of the course materials, print them out if you prefer, or take them with you on a tablet on your daily commute.

You can buy each unit separately at £72 (£60 + VAT), or the full Certificate (four units) is £264 (£220 + VAT)

These course costs do not include RHS examination fees  (currently £18 per unit). 

These are paid to the RHS by the Centre where you choose to take your exams, and while we offer our students the facility to take exams at our Ryton and North Moreton, these may not be the most convenient locations for you. You can arrange to take examinations at any Centre which offers your specific exam and which will accept an external candidate.  The RHS website gives guidance on finding an exam centre.

NOTE: It is possible that  from September 2021 all students enrolling on RHS courses will need to be entered for RHS examinations at the start of their course, so exam fees may need to be included in the cost of the complete course or units; but the level of exam fees from September 2021 has not yet been announced.


What is the enrolment process?

You can enrol and buy your chosen units on the website using PayPal.

For online courses, your username and password should be emailed to you automatically; please check spam filters if you do not see an email within an hour, and contact us if nothing has arrived overnight.

What else do I need to know?

There is no compulsory course work, but you will be given the opportunity to try practice examination questions to prepare yourself for the examinations.

Our candidates enjoy a high level of success in RHS examinations, with over 90% passing on the first attempt and approximately half of those, passing with commendation (that means they achieve 70% or more in the exam).

Your enrolment gives you online access and tutor support for two years,  or until the final examinations which the RHS hold for this form of the Certificate.

What can I do after completing this course?

You can go on to study the new Level 2 theory Certificate;  alternatively, you could undertake the  RHS Level 2 Practical Certificate in Horticulture.

An RHS Level 2 qualification is well respected in the horticultural industry and can be the first step in changing to a career in horticulture. It is an accepted route into the horticultural profession for National Trust and many other employers.

After completing your studies at Level 2 you can progress on to an RHS Level 3 qualification.